Cong wins 17 seats in Mizoram autonomous district council poll

8 May 2017

The ruling Congress won 17 seats in the election to the 25-member Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC), State Election Commission officials said today.
The Opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) and Mara Democratic Front (MDF) combine bagged seven seats (MNF five and MDF two), besides an independent. The BJP, which had fielded candidates in six seats, failed to win a single seat.
The Congress had contested all 25 seats, the MNF in 12 seats and its ally, the MDF in 13 seats. Only one independent, among 14 independents who were in the fray, was successful. While the MNF increased its seats by two, the Congress got one additional seat compared to their seats won in the 2012 MADC election.