Mizoram CM confident about Cong victory in2018 Assembly polls

Zakhai sworn in as CEM of Mara ADC
Report by: 
12 May 2017

Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla today claimed that the Congress would win the 2018 state Assembly polls.
Addressing party workers at the Congress Bhavan here, Lal Thanhawla said that no party had formed government for three consecutive terms but the Congress would do it in 2018 polls. He said that the landslide victory by the party in the Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) for which the polling was held on May 4 was a clear indicator.
Congress leader N Zakhai was today sworn in as the chief executive member (CEM) of Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) in Siaha. Siaha district deputy commissioner Harleen Kaur administered the oath of office to the newly appointed CEM in the presence of senior ruling Congress party leaders and the MADC officials. Zakhai announced the names of six executive members (EC) of the council.
Names of K Hramo, M H Taibi, K Chhuabei, F C Lawmkima and V B Byhna were announced while their portfolios would be declared soon, officials said. Zakhai was elected as the CLP leader on Monday following the announcement of the results of 25-member MADC on May 4. Congress had won 17 seats in it. Opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) and Mara Democratic Front (MDF) had managed to bag seven seats while there was one successful independent candidate. BJP, which contested six seats, failed to open an account.
The ruling Congress bagged 17 seats in the 25-member MADC polls while the opposition Mizo National front (MNF) and Mara Democratic Front (MDF) combine could manage to win only seven seats while one seat went to an independent nominee. Lal Thanhawla has been state chief minister for five terms and was first inducted in the top post in 1984.