2nd phase of Odisha panchayat polls today

14 Feb 2017

The Odisha State Election Commission (SEC) today said all arrangements are in place for the second phase polling for panchayat elections scheduled to be held across 65 blocks on Wednesday.
Polling will be held in 174 Zilla Parishad constituencies spread across 29 districts except Deogarh, said SEC secretary Rabindanath Sahoo. He said as many as 53,62,814 voters will elect their Zilla Parishad, Samiti and Ward members, along with Sarpanchs. The Zilla Parishad candidate of Polsara has already won the seat uncontested. Polling will be held at 18,581 wards of 1,386 panchayats, the SEC said.
Like the first phase, the second phase of polling will also start at 7 am and continue till 12 noon. Counting of votes will start from 1 pm, Sahoo said adding, CCTVs and videography arrangements have been made in hyper-sensitive and sensitive booths. The SEC said district collectors and superintendents of police have been instructed to ensure free and fair polling.