TMC fields senior leaders for civic body polls

20 Apr 2017

The Trinamool Congress has fielded party heavyweights as candidates for the municipality election.
Today the party announced 14 candidates from Darjeeling and seven from Kalimpong. The heavyweight candidates include hill TMC working president N.B. Khawas from ward 20,  hill TMC Mahila president Sardha Subba from ward 32 and GTA nominated Sabashad Milan Dukpa from ward 13. In Kalimpong the names include those of Maximus Kalikotey, who has remained the vice chairman and chairman of Kalimpong municipality during the GNLF's heydays, and C.K. Kumai, another former municipality chairman.
Kalikotey was with the GNLF and joined the TMC today right before the candidates' names were announced.
“The main reason we are fielding heavyweights for the civic polls is that we want our main aim of good governance to be fulfilled. We want the municipality board to be run properly all local issues solved. The public wants change and we are confident about winning in all the four municipalities. We want the people to know that development is possible only through our party as we are in power in the state government. As a result, the municipalities can function more smoothly,” said Rajen Mukhia, the hill TMC president.
With the TMC already announcing 10 candidates for Kalimpong municipality on Wednesday, the names announced there are now 17 from the 23 wards, while in Mirik municipality the TMC has already announced seven candidates out of the nine wards.
For Darjeeling the number remains at 14 till now from the 32 wards, while the names for Kurseong for the 20 wards will be announced by Friday. The TMC, which is in a seat sharing agreement with the GNLF, also said they were leaving two wards for the GNLF in Mirik, which include wards 1 and 6, while in Kalimpong they are not contesting in four wards, 4,5,10 and 9. The number of wards that will be given to the GNLF in Kurseong and Darjeeling is yet to be fixed.
The TMC has also decided to invite senior party leaders Partha Chatterjee, Gautam Deb and Arup Biswas to Darjeeling, Rabindra Nath Ghosh to Kurseong, Sourav Chakraborty to Mirik and Mohan Sharma to Kalimpong, to campaign for the candidates.
On the other hand, the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha today announced the names of six more candidates for Darjeeling municipality, taking the total to 17 candidates. With no further names announced for the other three municipalities, the number remains at 19 candidates in Kurseong municipality and 20 candidates in Kalimpong, while none has been announced for Mirik municipality.
The nominations continued today with GJM candidates in Darjeeling filing their papers. The last date of nomination filing is on April 24. (EOIC)