Rift between two factions of NPF in Nagaland deepens

1 Aug 2017

The internal differences within the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) in Nagaland continue to deepen with both factions initiating punitive action against each other.
The 36 NPF legislators under the leadership of chief minister T R Zeliang have demanded immediate resignation of Shurhozelie Liezietsu from the office of president of NPF within 15 days. The decision was taken during a meeting of the NPF legislature party last evening in the presence of Zeliang and Lok Sabha MP Neiphiu Rio as special invitee. They also selected Rio as the interim president of the NPF and empowered him with all the functions and prerogatives of the president of the NPF under the Constitution of the NPF and to take decisions in the overall interests of the Nagas with immediate effect.
Resolving that all decisions taken by the NPF under the leadership of Liezietsu after July 13 shall be rendered null and void, the 36 legislators also appealed to the NPF rank and file to join the majority. On the other hand, the NPF President Liezietsu had already expelled 31 out of the 36 NPF MLAs supporting Zeliang. Zeliang was sworn-in as chief minister on July 19 replacing the five-month-old government of Liezietsu who did not turn up for the trust vote on July 21. Zeliang has the support of 36 NPF legislators, four BJP MLAs and seven Independents in the effecting strength of 59 of the 60-member house.