23rd Kolkata International Film Festival will start on 10th Nov

Report by: 
Mridula Chattopadhyay
5 Nov 2017

One of the biggest cultural attractions of Kolkata the 23rd Kolkata International Film Festival will be commenced on 10th of November this year. The dignified guests who will chair the inaugural session will include film personalities like Amitav Bachan, Sharukh Khan, actress Kajol, film maker and actor Kamal Hasan, film maker Mahesh Bhatt, vocalist Kumar Sanu and famous film critic Prof Rachel Dwyer.  After the official inauguration ‘Yellow’ a film made Iranian Director will Mustafa Taqizad will be screened.  A press conference has been organised today by the festival committee in the auditorium of Nandan-2 to apprise media about the schedule of 23rd Kolkata International Film Festival. This year’s festival will be inaugurated by Honourable chief minister Mamata Banerjee on 10th November at the Netaji Indoor Stadium at 4 pm. The 7-day long film bonanza will end on 17th November. The press conference was chaired by dignitaries like chairman of the Film Festival Committee veteran actress Sabitri Chattopadhyay, state minister for ministry of information and cultural affairs and tourism Indranil Sen, minister for sports and youth welfare Arup Biswas, the director of the festival Jadav Mandal, the principal secretary of the information and cultural affairs Bibek Kumar and the British Deputy High Commissioner Brush Bucknnell. For the first time in the history of Kolkata Film Festival, the United Kingdom has been chosen as the focus country.
The screening of Moroccan films will be another attraction of this mega show. Films made in Indian rare languages will also be screened. Famous film critic and writer Prof Rachel Dwyer will deliver Satyajit Roy Memorial Lecture. State minister of ministry of information and cultural affairs and tourism Indranil Sen has informed the media that from this year Innovation in Moving Images will replace as the topic of competition in place of Women’s Director’s Competition. The Best film will be awarded Rs 51 lac and the best director will receive 21 lac along with Royal Bengal Golden Tiger Trophy. Sen has also informed the media Hiralal Sen Memorial Award will be awarded to the winner of Indian Languages Competition Section.  Sen imforms the media about a new initiative made by the festival committee to reach the cinema to the mass by screening the films on giant screen in different parts of Kolkata. As a part of this initiative  parai parai cinema films will be screened at the place like Kasba, Tala Park, Behala Pornoshree, and Tallygung Bhwani Cinema. 
The Best Asian Film will receive Neptac Award. The director of the festival Jadav Mandal informed the media that this year a total number of 143 films made by 135 film directors of 53 countries will be screened. Among these 143 films 93 are foreign films, 50 Indian films.  Total number of Bengali films is 10. Other than these films a total number of 87 short films and 51 documentary films are the other attractions. The venue of the festival will include 12 different auditoria namely Nandan-1, Nandan-2, Nandan-3,Rabindra Sadan, Sisir Mancha, Nazrul Tirtha, Star Theatre Mitra Cinema, Navina Cinema, Mani Square, EZCC and Inox City Centre.