CM announces 13-member health regulatory panel

17 Mar 2017

The state government today set up a 13-member health regulatory commission which would work as a watch dog for the health care system of West Bengal.

While Justice Ashim Kumar Roy, a sitting judge of Calcutta High Court will be the chairman, Anil Kumar Verma, principal secretary in the departments of consumer affairs and self-help group will become the vice-chairman of the commission. This was today announced by chief minister Mamata Banerjee who also said the commission would look into all complaints of medical negligence and take redressal measures.

The other members of the commission include Anuj Pandey, ADG, law and order of the state police, Praveen Tripathy, DCP, South of Kolkata Police, Sukumjar Mukherjee, Gopal Krishna Dhali, Madhusudan Banerjee, Abhijit Chaudhury, Makhan Lal Saha, Maitreyee Banerjee, all doctors, Madhav Das, from nursing section,  Sanghamitra Ghosh, special secretary, health and B R Satpathy, director of medical education.

``Now I urge all who have been aggrieved not to indulge in any vandalism and lodge complaint with the commission,'' the chief minister said.