Coal unions serve strike notice

10 May 2017

Five Central Trade Unions of the coal industry representing almost 90 per cent of the workmen have served a three-day strike from June 19 in protest against the merger of the Coal Miners Provident Fund with the Employees Provident Fund and early wage settlement.
The five trade unions under the banners of CITU, INTUC, BMS, HMS and AITUC will participate in the nation-wide proposed strike, which will cover Coal India Ltd and Singareni Collieries. "We have served strike notice to press our demands," BMS affilited ABKMS president B K Rai said.