Rural board formation mostly peaceful, BJP wins key post at Chowki Mirdadpur despite TMC’s majority

24 Aug 2018

Reconstitution of boards at different panchayets in the district today remained by and large peaceful. However, the surprise came from Chowki Mirdadpur under Manikchak block where a BJP candidate was elected the pradhan although Trinamool Congress had majority. Even Trinamool’s success for the post of upa pradhan (deputy head) could not bury the party’s internal rift.
Out of 17 seats under Chowki Mirdadpur GP Trinamool alone bagged nine seats. BJP and Congress won eight and two seats respectively. However, during formation of the new board Mampi Rajak, a BJP member was elected as pradhan (head). Asibul Ali of Trinamool was elected the deputy.
Soon after the new board was formed local BJP leaders claimed that the party’s success came through the same strategy Trinamool had applied across the state. “They purchased elected rural body members from opposition parties. We adopted the same policy and thus we won the key panchayet post here,” said a BJP leader of Chowki Mirdadpur.
Outgoing deputy head of Malda zilla parishad and influential Trinamool leader Gour Chandra Mandal, however, interpreted BJP candidate’s success to pradhan post as consequence of legal compulsion.
“The pradhan's post is reserved for a scheduled caste candidate. But none of our elected candidates belong to SC category. Hence, BJP’s scheduled caste candidate was the automatic choice,” Mandal said.
Although Mandal refuted the squabbling in Trinamool camp after board formation, local Trinamool leaders were found accusing one another publicly.
Trinamool without any surprise formed boards in Ratua II, Kaliachak I and Gazole blocks today.
Mainura Bibi and Mohammed Arman Ali of Trinamool were elected pradhan and upa pradhan of Pirganj gram panchayet in ratua II block respectively. Chandana Mondal Upadhyay and Shampa Ghosh were elected head and deputy head respectively of Araidanga GP in same block.
Sabila Bibi and Sabera Bibi were elected to two key posts of Kaliachak I GP today. They were elected as Congress candidates but defected to Trinamool later.
Scuffle was reported from Gazole block where BJP leaders alleged attack on party workers by Trinamool backed goons after reconstitution of board at Alal gram panchayet in Gazole block.
Thakurdas Sarkar and Chanchal Chakraborty, local BJP leaders alleged that Jaydeb Saha, a party activist was injured as Trinamool workers pelted stone targeting them. The injured BJP worker had to be reportedly hospitalised. (EOIPC)