TMC snags Sabhadhipati post of Malda Zilla Parishad

Report by: 
10 Sep 2018

Gour Chandra Mandal, Trinamool Congress member of Malda zilla parishad (MZP) from Manikchak today replaced Sarala Murmu as Sabhadhipati by defeating BJP candidate Ujjwal Chowdhury. Out of 37 members of MZP, Mandal bagged support of 31 members including the two from Congress. Chowdhury on the other hand got support of six elected members of BJP.
Chandana Sarkar of Trinamool was elected Sahakari Sabhadhipati . He defeaed Sagarika Sarkar of BJP by the same margin.
Election was held for 37 seats out of 38 in MZP. Trinamool won 29 seats alone while BJP bagged six seats. Congress won only two seats.
Trinamool Congress received support from both of the Congress members in MZP. The Congress members – Anisur Rahaman and Bandana Rani Ghosh said that they voted for Trinamool following  directive from district party leadership.
Mandal, who was the Sahakari Sabhadhipati of former MZP board, was flooded with applause from all sections of ruling party after his election to the crucial post.
Chandana Sarkar was krishi karmadhakshya of the immediate past board.
“Roads, bridges, culverts, drinking water and rural electrification would be priorities of the new MZP board,” Mandal said after his victory.
It may be mentioned that Mandal is known to be an arch rival of former minister Sabitri Mitra in factional politics of the ruling party. Political observers believe that Mandal’s election as Sabhadhipati would corner Mitra further in the party.