Two ex-ministers virtually ignored in process of forming TMC block committees in Malda

Report by: 
3 Jan 2018

Two former ministers from Malda – Krishnendu Choudhury and Sabitri Mitra have virtually been ignored in preparing the block level committees of Trinamool Congress (TMC) that were officially declared by party’s district president Dr Moazzem Hossain in presence of senior party leaders including English Bazaar MLA and civic body chief Nihar Ghosh and vice-chairman of municipality, Dulal Sarkar today.
Apart from English Bazaar urban area and Kaliachak III block names of block presidents for 14 other block and one municipality were announced today. 47 leaders have found berth in the new committees. While former cabinet minister and ex-district TMC president has been reduced to the level of block president in Manikchak, followers of another former minister Choudhury are not offered any crucial post in the newly declared committee. Although the two veteran TMC leaders, who did not even a ‘hi-hello’ relationship, preferred to offer scanty reactions, it has been learnt from sources that both of them have expressed in close circles strong discontent over the newly constituted block committees. Interestingly, people’s representatives who defected to the rulling party from other parties have been offered crucial posts in different blocks. Dipali Biswas, MLA from Gazole defected to TMC from CPM. She has been made block president in Gazole.
AN Khan Choudhury, brother of late Ghani Khan Choudhury and former Congress MLA have been nominated Trinamool block president of Kaliachak I. Asadul Ahmed, an elected zilla parishad member has been made block president of Kalichak II after he defected to Trinamool from Congress. Subhadeep Sanyal, who was once elected a municipal councilor for CPM and then joined Trinamool has been nominated working president of English Bazaar rural area committee. Similarly, former Forward Bloc MLA Tajmul Hossain defected to TMC and has got the post of president of Harischandrapur I block. While reacting about announcement of new block committees, Choudhury said: “I have only heard about the new committees. Despite being a member of district and state committee I have no official information about it.”
“I served as district Trinamool president for eight years. Naturally, I would not like to be considered as block president. An SP cannot be demoted to the level of a OC. I have messaged my opinion to the party supremo Mamata Banerjee already,” he added. Visibly discontented Sabitri Mitra had a very brief reaction in a miffed tone. “I would follow the party’s decision and act accordingly,” she said. Hossain said: “Different leaders proposed different committees of their choices to the party leadership. After a thorough consideration of all those the party leadership made the committee wisely. Two remaining committees would be declared shortly also”.