Controversial JNU prof, 12 others chosen as ICSSR members

29 Jun 2017

JNU professor Amita Singh, who had last year kicked up a storm with her alleged remarks that all Dalits and Muslims are "anti-nationals", is among the thirteen people chosen by the HRD Ministry as member of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR). The ICSSR was established in 1969 by the central government to promote research in social sciences. It gives grants to institutions and scholars, and reviews the progress of social science research. The Ministry of Human Resource Development (HRD) had last month appointed anthropologist Brij Bihari Kumar as ICSSR chairman, who had set in motion the process of appointment of other members to the council. "The ICSSR chairman had sent 13 names for nomination as council members and the ministry has approved them," a source said. Among those who have been chosen as members are JNU professors Amita Singh and Ashwini Mahapatra, Delhi University professor and honorary director of India Policy foundation Rakesh Sinha and Bihar University Vice Chancellor HCS Rathor. Singh, who heads the JNU's Centre of Law and Governance, had kicked up a controversy during the sedition row at the varsity by allegedly calling Dalits and Muslims as "anti- nationals". While the professor had maintained that she was "quoted out of context", the National Commission for Scheduled Caste had sent show-cause notice to the JNU over the issue  A few selected members of ICSSR include Pune University professor Shantishree Pandit, management professor P Kangasabapathi, economics professor Sanjay Satyarthi, linguist from the Hyderabad Central University Panchanan Mohanty, Dalit woman academician K S Khobragade, T S Naidu, P V Krishna Bhatt and H S Bedi.(PTI)