In a first, Govt sanctions 609 houses under PMAY for PB

22 Jun 2017

For the first time, the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Govt. of India,  has sanctioned 609 houses for Port Blair with an investment of Rs.54 cr and central assistance of Rs.9.00 cr for the Andaman and Nicobar Islands under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) (Urban) scheme.
Karnataka has been sanctioned 56,281 more affordable houses for 93 cities and towns with an investment of Rs.2,950 cr and Central assistance of Rs.844 cr. Bengaluru has been sanctioned 8,291 houses, Bellary-1,613, Shivamogga-1,500, Chennapatna-1,450, Hubbali-1,300, Dharwar-1,292, Challakere-1,127, Kanakpur-1,163 and Sira-1,008. With these latest approvals, the total number of affordable houses approved for construction under PMAY (Urban) has increased to 20,95,718.
The Ministry has also approved construction of 70,784 affordable houses for the benefit of urban poor in Uttar Pradesh under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban) with an investment of Rs.3,528 cr for which central assistance of Rs.1,062 cr has been approved. (PIB)