Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as new CJI

28 Aug 2017

Justice Dipak Misra, who was part of the bench that confirmed the death sentence of the four convicts in the December 16 gangrape case and passed the order for mandatory singing of the national anthem in cinema halls, was today sworn in as the 45th Chief Justice of India (CJI).

At a brief ceremony in the Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhawan, President Ramnath Kovind administered the oath of office to Justice Misra. He took the oath in English in the name of God. Justice Misra, 64, assumes office following the retirement of Justice J S Khehar on Sunday. Justice Misra will remain in office till October 2, 2018. As per the established practice, Justice Khehar had named Misra as the next CJI last month.

Justice Mishra was the Chief Justice of the Patna High Court and the Delhi high court before being elevated to the apex court in October 2011. Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik today congratulated Justice Dipak Misra on becoming the Chief Justice of India. Patnaik also spoke to Justice Misra over telephone, an official in the chief minister's office said.

"Congratulate Chief Justice of India Hon'ble Shri Dipak Misra on swearing in; a proud moment for Odisha. Many congratulations to him," the chief minister said in a twitter post.