Three JJBs, Spl. Juvenile Units in ANI Police

9 Feb 2018

The Andaman and Nicobar Administration has established three Juvenile Justice Boards (JJBs) besides three special Juvenile Police Units, informed the Minister of State for Women and Child Development, Dr. Virendra Kumar. In a written reply in Lok Sabha on Friday, the Minister said that altogether there are 701 Juvenile Justice Boards (JJBs) in the country which are supported under the Integrated Child Protection Scheme (ICPS) of the Ministry of Women and Child Development. The primary responsibility of setting up the JJBs vests with the State Governments/UT Administrations concerned. Section 4 (1) of the Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act, 2015, provides that the State Government shall constitute for every district one or more JJBs for exercising the powers and discharging its functions relating to children in conflict with law and this is an ongoing process.
“More than 1700 Special Juvenile Police Units(SJPUs) have been established in the country. Each district and city in the country has atleast one SJPU. The Police officers of the Special Juvenile Police Unit are trained by their respective State Governments and State Police Academies. A module for training of Indian Police Services officers has been incorporated by National Police Academy. National level training programmes are also organized by National Institute of Public Cooperation and Child Development (NIPCCD). National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) has taken up an exercise for preparing uniform Training Manuals,” the Minister informed. (PIB)