Two from Jharkhand sworn in as Rajya Sabha members

5 May 2018

Dhiraj Prasad Sahu and Samir Oraon were on Friday sworn in as members of the Rajya Sabha after being elected from Jharkhand. Sahu who was elected on a Congress ticket, and Oraon, who is from the BJP, were administered the oath of office by Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, the Rajya Sabha secretariat said in a statement. Sahu was elected as member of the upper house from the same state in June 2009 and he retired in 2010. He was re-elected from the state again in July 2010 and retired in 2016. Oraon is a newly elected member. Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Vijay Goel and Rajya Sabha Secretary General Desh Deepak Verma were also present on the occasion. (PTI)