2nd edition of Andaman Safaris Autocross 2018 concludes, Faiz Ashif adjudged overall champ

Report by: 
Port Blair
24 Apr 2018

The second season of Andaman Safaris Autocross 2018 was held amid a splendid crowd on Sunday. Altogether  75 racers participated in the challenge, which was organised in association with Experience Andaman and Federation of Motor Sports Club of India. Faiz Ashif bagged the overall championship title for clocking 2:02:40s. The Deputy Commissioner of South Andaman, Mr Udit Prakash Rai flagged off the event in the presence of Adhyaksha, Zilla Parishad, South Andaman, Baby Fareeda, Chairperson, Municipal Council, Mr IP Singh, Municipal Councillor, Smt Protima Banerjee, PRI members from Beodnabad Panchayat. Ms Bani Yadav, India’s fastest women car rallyist was the special invitee for the occasion.
Addressing the gathering, the managing director of Andaman Safaris Pvt. Ltd., Mr Ashraf Hanif, thanked the FMSCI team, participants and sponsors of the event viz. Force A.G. Motor, Falken Tyre, Mayush Enterprises, Oriental Filling Station, Daikin, Sidzern, Andaman Connection, Sea Link Adventure, Island Adventure, Yokohama, Grey Men Salon, Tropical Andaman, Jenny Wallpaper, MRL, All India Parcel Service and Leader Light and Sound for making the event a grand success.
Altogether  75 participants registered for the Autocross in multiple categories including 10 female racers. In the women entry class category, Thaketu Raj bagged the 1st Prize followed by S Prabha (2nd )and AM Feba (3rd). In the modified class above 1600cc category, Faiz Ashif secured the first position followed by Muntaqueen Ahmed and Naveen Ganesh. In the SUV class, Narsima was adjudged first, while Shahbaz and Robert bagged the second and third positions respectively. Faiz Ashif won the 1st prize in the open class category while Muntaqueen Ahmed and Lokesh were adjudged second and third respectively. In the Amstock class between 1100 cc to 1400cc category, M.A. Tamheed bagged the first prize followed by Nagesh and Faiz Ashif.