Annual Conference of NGGOA

Port Blair
15 Apr 2018

The two-day Annual Conference of the Non-Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association  (NGGOA), Andaman and Nicobar Islands began with its inaugural session at Kerala Samajam here on Saturday. Mr Giriraj Singh, Vice President, Confederation of Central Govt. Employees & Workers, New Delhi inaugurated the conference.
In his address, Mr Giriraj Singh criticized the present government’s retrograde policy to downsize the government sector by abolishing around five lakh posts in various departments in the country. He discussed in detail about the Confederations fight for various genuine demands of the government employees which include Revision of Minimum Wage and Fitment Formula, Repealing of NPS and introduction of Old Pension Scheme, removing the 5 per cent ceiling in compassionate appointments, do away with the ‘Very Good’ condition in MACP etc. He urged upon the government employees to stand united in support with the confederation for achieving the demands and fight against the anti-employee attitude the government. He also assured support from confederation in the struggles of employees under A & N Administration.
Welcoming the gathering, Mr Raj Kumar Saw, Chairman, Reception Committee enlightened about the glorious history of the NGOs’ Association and the struggles made by the leaders like Com. PKS Prasad for the benefits being enjoyed by the employees of these islands. Mr K.G.Das, former general secretary of the associationm Mr B.Chandrachoodan, general secretary, CITU, Mr D.Ayyappan, general secretary, A & N Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association, Mr S.P.Kalairajan, circle secretary, BSNLEU and Mr Anadi Bhattacharjee, secretary, P-IV AIPEU also spoke on the occasion.
The Association also honoured three former leaders Mr Raj Kumar Saw, Mr A.Adaikkan and Mr Mohammed Ali and a senior office bearer Mr D.N.Banerjee by presenting mementos in the memory of former leader of the association Mr B.L.Banerjee. A cultural programme was also presented by children in the beginning. Smt Suma Nair, joint secretary, reception committee expressed vote of thanks. The conference continued on Sunday with the delegate session being participated by the delegates and observers from various branches and sub-committees of the association from Campbell Bay to Diglipur.