Athletic Meet of Kamorta School

Port Blair
27 Feb 2017

The 29th Annual Athletic Meet of the Government Model Secondary School, Kamorta was  held recently. Mr Casper James, Assistant Commissioner, Nancowrie declared the Meet open as the chief guest. In his address, Mr James appreciated the hard work, discipline and team work of the teachers and students in the schoolHe said that with the completion of the Stadium at Vikash Nagar, the  students will get more opportunity  for sports activities. Smt Matilda Kerketta, Assistant Education Officer, Nancowry was the guest of honour
A disciplined March Past was presented by the students of four houses (Kakana House, Daring House, Champin House and Trinket House) which was followed by oath taking by Rennae Stubbs of Class X.  The Torch Fire was carried by School Champions of last year Kumar Raju and Kumari Sania  Mirza.    The girl students performed the  Dumble Drills and Mass PT  while the boys  demonstrated the Dund Baithak.   Special events for Divyang students were also organised.
Earlier, Smt Anitha Nath.G, Headmaster In-charge of the school welcomed the gathering.
In the closing ceremony, Comdt. Sandeep Safaya. TM, Commanding Officer, Indian Coast Guard, Kamorta Station was the Chief Guest who declared the Athletic Meet close.  Mr Nazeer Ahmed, 1st Captain, Kamorta & Chairman SMC, was the Guest of Honour at the Closing Ceremony.  A beautiful group dance was presented by the primary class students and a fancy dress competition was also held among the four houses on the themes of latest issues.  The Chief Guest Comdt. Sandeep Safaya.TM praised the sports and cultural activities in the school and was full of appreciation of the talents of the students studying in such a far-flung island.  Daring House won the Champion Trophy and Runner-up trophy was lifted by Champin House.  Kumar Sailas of class VIII got the individual championship for boys and Kumari Jackleen of class X got the individual championship trophy for girls.   A large number of parents and villagers witnessed the   athletic events from morning to the end.  Smt Alenxandra James, GTT, proposed the vote of thanks.