Dr Srikanth Memorial T-20 tourney underway at Carnic

Port Blair
24 Apr 2017

The opening ceremony of Dr. B Srikanth Memorial, T-20 Cricket Tournament Rolling Trophy Session-II was held at BJR Stadium, Tamaloo, Car Nicobar last Friday. The tournament was started last year in the memory of Dr B. Srikanth, former Superintendent of Police, Nicobar district.
Altogether, 25 teams from Nicobar are participating in the tournament in which a total of 42 matches will be played. In the opening  match, played between defending champions Perka-A and Islands Brothers-11, Perka-A defeated Islands Brothers-11 by 73 Runs. The final match will be held on May 15.
In her address, the Deputy Commissioner, Nicobar, Smt Neha Bansal, extended her warm wishes to the players. She also applauded the efforts of Nicobar District Police for arranging such tournament at Car Nicobar. The Superintendent of Police, Nicobar, Mr Deepak Yadav also extended his warm wishes to the players and appealed to them to play the game with true spirit of sportsmanship. He also spoke about the good work done by late Dr B.Srikanth and how the tournament is a forward step in the direction of community policing and making police-public interaction more meaningful.