DSW felicitates best Anganwadi workers

Port Blair
14 Nov 2018

The Department of Social Welfare (DSW) has been implementing Anganwadi Services under Umbrella Integrated Child Development Services through 720 Anganwadi Centres across the Islands. Government of India, Ministry of Women & Child Development has instituted awards for best Anganwadi Workers at National and UT Level with citation and cash award @ Rs. 50000/- and Rs. 10,000 (revised) respectively. Accordingly, Smt Urmila Mazumder, ICDS Project, Diglipur (2014-15), Smti Usha Devi, ICDS Project, Diglipur (2015-16), Smti Tutu Nelson, ICDS Project, Rangat (2016-17) , Smti T. Sunita, ICDS Project, Rangat (2017-18) were selected at National Level and Smti Anita Durai, ICDS Project, Urban (2014-15), Smti Puspa Dutta, ICDS Project, Diglipur, Smti Sanmugathai ICDS Project, Diglipur (2015-16), Smti Maimuna, ICDS Project, Rangat (2016-17), Smti Sanmugathai ICDS Project, Diglipur (2017-18) were selected at UT Level.
The selected National Level Awardees has been felicitated by Ministry of Women and Child Development during the function held at New Delhi on 31.08.2017. The UT level awardees were felicitated in a function held on the occasion of Childrens day at Community Hall, Dairy farm on 14.11.2018. While felicitating the Awardees, Smti Ankita Mishra Bundela, IAS, Commissioner cum Secretary (SW), the Chief Guest gave a brief note about the objectives of Anganwadi Services and the role of Anganwadi Workers in its outreach & effective implementation. She appreciated the fabulous services rendered by the awardees and called upon other functionaries to treat it as an inspiration for delivering Anganwadi Services to the beneficiaries in a better and effective manner.
The Director of Social Welfare gave a background note of ICDS activities and the role of frontline workers. The awardees also share their notable experience during the programme. Smart performance of dance, folk dance and fancy dress by the children of Balikaniketan, Anganwadi Workers and Anganwadi children enthralled the gathering on the occasion. The programme began with welcome address by Smti Jantara Pant, CDPO (UP) and concluded with vote of thanks proposed by Mr P. C. James, Programme Officer (ICDS).