Farmers meet at Mithakhari

Port Blair
15 Jan 2018

Farmers Meet 2018 was organised by Agriculture Department in association with Gram Panchayat Mithakhari at Community Hall Ograbraj on Monday with a welcome note by Mr. Sanjib Kr. Mandal, Zilla Parishad Member, Mithakhari Constituency. Mr. Ramesh Verma, Secretary (Agriculture, Fisheries & AH&VS) was the chief guest. Mr. Anjan Kr. Das, Director (Agriculture), Dr. N.G. Poddar, Director(AH&VS), Dr. Utpal Kr. Sar, Director(Fisheries), Mr. A. Kundu, Director (ICAR), Mr. Manoj, DGM, NABARD participated in the event. All the officials gave details on various schemes and programmes by the Government of India for the benefit of farmers. An interaction session was held between Officials and Farmers for solving the problems and coming out with beneficiary solutions for them. The participants from villages like Ograbraj, Muslimbasti, Mithakhari, Tushnabad, Chouldhari, Collinpur, Namunaghar took a pledge to utilize the various benefit given by the Government.
A field visit was carried out by the Secretary and all Government officials present at the farm of Mr. A. Samsuddin, a progressive farmer of Ograbraj village under Gram Panchayat Mithakhari who has excelled in the field of three sectors of Agriculture, Fisheries & AH & VS. Pradhan Mr. Mohd. Safiq interacted with the officials on behalf of farmers and thanked all the officials for organizing such an event generating new opportunities of employment for the coming generation and existing farmers. The Secretary gave assurance to standby them in all situations of need. Mr. R. Y. Singh, Asst. Director Agriculture, proposed the vote of thanks.