JNRM Prof. presents poems at International Poetry Fest

Port Blair
13 Jun 2017

The Head of PG Department of Bengali, JNRM, Dr Jyotirmoy Roy Chowdhury, participated  in an ‘International Poetry Festival - 2017’  organized by “ Shrinwantu” (a cultural organization for recitation ) recently at Indumati Sabhagriha of Jadavpur University in Kolkata . Well-known poets and reciters of Nepal, Bangladesh and India participated in the event. Dr. RoyChowdhury recited four self composed Bengali and English poems as a poet of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.  Renowned poet Smt. Krishna Basu presided over the function and Mr. B.M. Jamal Hossain , Counsellor, Bangladesh High Commission was the chief guest . Dr. Debesh Thakur, Prof. Jinbodhi Bhikshu (University of Chitagong , Bangladesh ) , Dr. Keshav Sigdel ( Tribhuban University , Kathmandu , Nepal) , famous Bengali reciter Mr. Pradip Ghosh , poets Mr. Arun Kumar Chakraborty ( Baul Kabi), Mr. Pran G. Basak ( IIT , Delhi ) were also present as special guests in this occasion.
In his inaugural address, Mr. B.M. Jamal Hossain described the influence of the ‘Muktiyuddha’ of Bangladesh  on Bangla poems and literature.  Mrs. Krisha Basu said that  poetry may become such powerful literary medium which was able to destroy all type of evils in society. Dr. Jinbodhi Bhikshu highlighted on the role of famous poet Mr. W.B. Yeats in promoting Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore in the western world . Apart from this Prof. Saira Banu Raushani , Mrs. Nishat Hossain Shirin , Mrs. Dilruba Khanam , Mrs. Nasima Khan Bakul , Mr. Ranjit Rakshit , Mr. Masum Ajijul Basar , Mr. Debashis Rudra , Mr.Hasan Jahangir, Md. Selim Bhuiyan , Mr. Faruk Taher , Md. Maksur Hossain , Md. Rabiul (from Bangladesh) , Mrs. Anupam Roshi and Dr. Keshav Sigdel (from Nepal) , Mr. Nilotpal Goswami and Kumari Granthita Goswami (from Tripura) , Mr. Tapan mohanta and Mrs. Nirmala Mohanta (from Tejpur , Assam ) and the poets-reciters of West Bengal also presented  their performance on the stage.  The secretary of the festival committee Mr. Ratan Kumar Ghosh proposed the vote of thanks. A team led by Mrs. MIta Ghosh , secretary of “Shrinwantu”  conducted the programme.