MHA institutes Special Operation Medal, award for excellence in Police Investigation

Report by: 
Port Blair
4 Jul 2018

The Ministry of Home Affairs recently approved institution of "Home Minister's Special Operation Medal" for Police Officers of States & Union Territories, Central Police Organisations (CPOs), Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) and Security Organisation involved in Special Operations to be awarded on the occasion of Independence Day and Republic Day every year. Three more Medals - the Antarik Suraksha Medal, Asadharan Aashuchan Padak and Utkrisht & Ati-Utkrisht Seva Medal have also been instituted which will be awarded annually. While HM’s Special Operation Medal and Asadharan Aashuchan Padak will be awarded on 15th August coinciding with the Independence Day, the Antarik Suraksha Medal and Utkrisht & Ati-Utkrisht Seva Medal will be announced on 26th January to mark the Republic Day.
“Asadharan Aashuchan Padak will be given to officials of Intelligence organization of Central Government and Intelligence Dept./wings/Special Branches/Units of all State/UT Police, CPOs, CAPFs, Assam Rifles (AR) and National Security Guard (NSG) for acts of exceptional courage and skill in intelligence gathering. Antarik Suraksha Medal will be bestowed upon Police personnel of States/UTs/ CPOs/CAPFs/Security Organisation in recognition of Operation Duty rendered by them for a tenure of every two years in Internal Security in J&K State/LWE region/NE region,” a statement from Home Ministry said. The Utkrisht and Ati Utkrisht Seva Medal will be awarded to permanent Police personnel and other permanent support staff working in CAPFs, State/UTs Police Forces, CPOs, AR, NSG, Home Guard (HG) and Intelligence organization of Central Govt/State Govt./CAPFs in recognition of Long Service of 15 and 25 year and good service records.
There will be no limit/quota for awarding the HM’s Special Operation Medal, Antarik Suraksha Medal and Asadharan Aashuchan Padak while there will be a cap of 1% and 0.5% of the sanctioned strength rank wise (Constable/HC/ASI/Sl/lnsp./Dy. SP/SP & above) subject to the eligibility conditions for the Utkrisht & Ati-Utkrisht Seva Medal respectively, the statement added. Earlier this year, the Home Affairs Ministry also approved institution of an award for officers of the state police and central investigative agencies, who carry out best investigation of crime aimed to promote high professional standards. The Medal for Excellence in Police Investigation would be given to the best investigators of police forces of the states, union territories and the central investigating agencies. Officers from the rank of Sub-Inspector to Superintendent of Police would eligible for the medal. “Based on the average crime data for the last three years, a total of 162 medals will be awarded every year; of these, 137 will be for the states and UTs and 25 for the central investigating agencies - National Investigation Agency (NIA), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and Narcotics Control Bureau (NCB),” as per MHA. The distribution of medals among the states/UTs will be on the basis of average of IPC crimes registered by them and the crime data published by the National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB) for 2013, 2014 and 2015.