MP, PRIs offer proposals to NITI Ayog for inclusion in HDP

Port Blair
29 Jun 2017

The Prime Minister of India, Mr Narendra Modi has taken an initiative for holistic development of A & N Islands which includes sustainability, preservation of natural eco-system, determination of carrying capacity, people participation, multiple socio-economic activities and promotion of non-conventional energy sources.  In line with the vision, five islands namely Smith Island, Ross Island, Long Island, Avis Island and Little Andaman have already been included in the Holistic Development Plan (HDP) by the NITI Ayog.
The team from NITI Ayog visited these islands and a meeting on holistic development was held in Raj Niwas on Wednesday. Mr Bishnu Pada Ray, Member of Parliament, Mr Jaydeep Kumar Dey, Adhyaksh Zilla Parishad, South Andaman, Smt Minoti Biswas, Ex-Adhyakhsa, Zilla Parishad, South Andaman, Mr Sandeep Biswas, Pramukh, Ferrar Gunj Panchayat Samiti and PRIs members also attended the meeting.
Major among other suggestions presented for inclusion in the holistic development plan by the Member of Parliament and PRI members include development of Viper Island on priority, inclusion of Radhanagar Beach of Diglipur, Ramnagar Beach of Diglipur, Baludera Beach of Baratang, Lalaji Beach of Long Island, Karmatang Beach of Mayabunder and Panchawati beach of Middle Andaman in Holistic Development Plan and construction of one mid-way like Delhi and Jaipur on any revenue land near Nimbutala, Middle Andaman and inclusion of Mr Mukeshwar Lall as an expert in Consultancy.
Mr Jaydeep Kumar Dey proposed to inclusion of North Bay and Campbell Bay beach in the development plan, while Mr Sandeep Biswas, Pramukh, Ferrar Gunj Panchayat Samiti recommended inclusion of Shoal Bay beach (19 km) and KYT Island in development plan. Smti Minoti Biswas also proposed to include Mahuwa Dera Beach of South Andaman District in the development plan.
The Member of Parliament and PRI members also suggestion constitution of a committee including Adhyaksha, Zilla Parishad, Chairman, PBMC, seven Pramukhs of Panchayat Samities and Member of Parliament to ensure public participation in the development plan. The Member of Parliament has also sent a letter to Mr Amitabh Kant, Chief Executive Officer, NITI Aayog , GOI under intimation to Mr Jitendra Kumar, Advisor, NITI Aayog, GOI (Camp at Port Blair) with the request to consider the suggestions.