Oorja 2017 CAPFs U-19 Football Talent Hunt Tournament concludes

Tournament will play vital role in reviving football in the country: CS
Report by: 
Port Blair
12 May 2017

Car Nicobar Football team has lifted the Oorja 2017 CAPFs U-19 Football Talent Hunt Tournament for Boys while Rangat Football team emerged as the winner of the tournament for girls. In a spectacular tie-breaker decided final match played between Port Blair and Car Nicobar at the Netaji Stadium here, Car Nicobar beat Port Blair by 3-2 goals in a tie-breaker shoot out. The match was goalless in the scheduled time. In the girls final match played yesterday, Rangat defeated Little Andaman by 5 goals to nill and lifted the tournament trophy.
The Chief Secretary, A&N Administration, Shri Anindo Majumdar, chief guest of the closing ceremony, Shri Baichung Bhutia, International footballer from India, PCCF, Dr. Alok Saxena and other dignitaries gave away the ‘Thomas Khushboo’ Trophy to the winners and medals to the runners up and hardliner teams of the tournament for boys and girls on the occasion.
Declaring the tournament closed, the chief guest congratulated BSF and associates organizers for successful conduct of the tournament. He said, this tournament will play vital role in reviving football in the country. This is the beginning of the efforts to up-grade the standard of football in the country and it provides a platform for footballers to showcase their talents as also develop the game at grass root level, he said and congratulated the participating teams, especially the winners for displaying good football during the tournament.
Shri Baichung Bhutia also congratulated the players and said that Oorja Talent Hunt Football Tournament will push up the talents of the footballers, who will go further to represent India in international football tournament. He suggested for opening Football Academy in the Islands for the benefit of football players.
In his welcome address, the Chairman, Oorja 2017 CAPFs U-19 Football Talent Hunt Tournament, Shri PSR Anjaneyulu, IG BSF, South Bengal Frontier expressed gratitude to the A&N Administration for all the assistance extended in organizing the tournament.
Car Nicobar team, the winner of the Boys tournament was awarded the Thomas Khushboo trophy and cash prize of Rs.50,000/-, while Port Blair bagged the runners up cash prize of Rs.30,000/- and Little Andaman the Hardliners team cash prize of Rs.20,000/-.
In the Girls teams, Rangat lifted the Thomas Khushboo trophy with cash prize of Rs.50,000/-, Little Andaman bagged the runners up cash prize of Rs.30,000/- and Wimberleygunj got the Hardliners team cash prize of Rs.20,000/-
The Golden Boots award for the highest scorer was bagged by Sahil Arjun of Car Nicobar for boys and Millie Joseph of Little Andaman for girls. K R Paul of Car Nicobar was adjudged the best player of the tournament and was awarded the Golden Ball for boys while for girls, it was Albina Barla of Rangat. Emmanuel, the goalkeeper of Port Blair team got the Golden Gloves award for boys and Nikita Soreng of Rangat for the girls.
A colourful group dance was presented by the artists of Dance Nritya Academy and the function concluded with the vote of thanks, proposed by the Organising Secretary, Oorja Football Tournament, Shri Mritul Sonowal, DIG BSF South Bengal Frontier.