Organisational poll meet of Pradesh Congress held

Port Blair
14 May 2017

The Member of Parliament, Mr Tamradhwaj Sahu  and Mr V.K. Arivazhagan  appointed by the  chairman, Central Election Authority of  All India Congress Committee as Pradesh Returning Officer (PRO) and  Assistant Pradesh Returning Officer (APRO) respectively  for Andaman & Nicobar  Island to conduct the organizational election 2017,   convened   an organisational election meeting  with  all  leaders of  Pradesh Congress Committee, District Congress Committee, Block Congress Committee, Unit Congress Committee  of Andaman & Nicobar Territorial Congress Committee, PRI and Port Blair Municipal Council members  belonging to Congress party and leaders of Frontal organizations of Congress party   on Saturday at Gandhi Bhavan, Port Blair to   take  necessary steps and  to supervise the membership drive.
Addressing the meeting, Mr Tamradhwaj Sahu said that  the  party’s organisational  election will have to be completed  by September and therefore the Central Election Authority of All India Congress Committee  has fixed  May 15 as the last date for the membership  drive.   He then  elaborated  the  party organisational election  schedule for A & N Islands  fixed by the AICC for the information  of the gathering.  The PRO then discussed the  present political  scenario in the country  and   highlighted the   need for strengthening the Congress   Party for the future of  the country as well these islands. Mr V.K. Arivazhagan, APRO  also urged   the party  leaders and workers  present in the meeting to enrol more and more members and also for free and fair organizational election.
Welcoming the gathering, Mr Kuldeep Rai Sharma, PCC president detailed the  present  position of the  membership drive  in A &  N Islands  and informed that the  PRO  & APRO are here to listen   suggestions and objections, if any,  in respect of  the membership drive and also to sort out further course of action  for  smooth conduct of Congress party organizational  2017. The PCC president then requested   all  leaders of  Pradesh Congress Committee, District Congress Committee, Block Congress Committee, Unit Congress Committee of Andaman & Nicobar Territorial Congress Committee, all PRI & PBMC members belonging to Congress Party  and leaders of frontal organisations of the party and workers to offer their suggestions and objection in the party’s  , organisational election process. Mr R.V. Reddy, president, South Andaman District Congress Committee proposed the vote of thanks.