Over 28,000 nominations received for Padma Awards 2019

Process open till Sept 15
Report by: 
Port Blair
11 Sep 2018

More than 28,260 registrations have been made on the website for the Padma Awards 2019, out of which 28,212 nominations/recommendations have been completed since the nominations opened on 1st May this year. The last date for online nominations/recommendations for the Padma Awards to be announced on the occasion of Republic Day, 2019 is September 15, 2018. The Ministry of Home Affairs has invited nominations from Central Ministries/Departments, States/UT Governments, Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan awardees, Institutes of Excellence as also from several other sources to enable broadbased consideration. The Ministry has requested them to make concerted efforts in identifying talented persons whose excellence and achievements really deserve to be recognized, and make suitable nominations in their favour.The MHA has requested that efforts may be made to identify talented persons from amongst women, weaker sections of the society, SCs & STs, divyang persons, etc., who deserve to be considered for the award. Government servants including those working with PSUs, except Doctors and Scientists, are not eligible for Padma Awards. All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for the awards. The nominations/recommendations for the Padma Awards are being received online only on the Padma portal www.padmaawards.gov.in. All citizens can make nominations/recommendation including self-nomination. For further details click 'Awards and Medals' on the Union Home Ministry's website: www.mha.gov.in. The statutes and rules relating to these awards are available on the Union Home Ministry's website with the link http://padmaawards.gov.in/SelectionGuidelines.aspx
Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. Instituted in 1954, these Awards are announced on the occasion of the Republic Day every year. The award seeks to recognize ‘work of distinction’ and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields/disciplines, such as, Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social Work, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry etc.