Traffic arrangements for Independence Day 2017

Port Blair
10 Aug 2017

The District Administration of South Andaman has made elaborate traffic arrangements for the rehearsals of the Independence Day celebrations on Aug 13 (Full Dress Rehearsal) and for the main function on 15th August 2017. Accordingly, movement of all vehicular traffic shall be closed from 8.30 am from Raj Niwas to National Memorial Cellular Jail via Old Telephone Exchange, Vikas Bhavan (ANIIDCO), Scouts Huts Crossing, Andaman Club, Y-Narayan Junction and CRPF Barrack, from Gymkhana Crossing to R. K. Mission via Dharamshala and Girls School Crossing, from R. K. Mission to Government Press, from Annapurna to Clock Tower, from Clock Tower to Dharamshala and from R. K. Mission to Raj Niwas via Machi Line, Murugan Temple and Gandhi Park.
The carcade of the Lt. Governor and other dignitaries who are holders of parking card ‘P’ shall be parked inside the Netaji Stadium and near the Andaman Club. The holders of car parking label ‘P’, except the Hon’ble LG’s carcade, may use any route of their choice to approach the place of function but they are requested to reach the place of function latest by 0830 hrs failing which their vehicles will be stopped near the Gymkhana Crossing itself.
The holders of ‘P-I’ parking labels and other vehicles i.e. four wheeler/two wheelers will arrive at the Netaji Stadium via Model School-Clock Tower-Gymkhana Crossing to Netaji Stadium. Thereafter, the vehicles shall proceed to the newly constructed parking on the western side of main gate of Netaji Stadium and near Swimming Pool.
After the departure of the Chief Guest from the place of function, the vehicles bearing parking label “P” shall follow the route Scout Hut Junction-Vikas Bhawan-Fire Brigade-Old Telephone Exchange-APWD Crossing to their destinations.
After the departure of all vehicles parked inside the stadium and near Andaman Club having “P” parking label the vehicles of “P-I” parking label will be released to come to the main entrance of Netaji Stadium to pick up the guests and shall leave via Scout Hut Junction-Girls School Crossing-RK Mission and RGT Road.
All other vehicles without any parking label including two and four wheelers will be parked near Rajiv Gandhi Water Sports Complex and Aberdeen Jetty.
The vehicles intending to proceed to South Point from Aberdeen Bazar shall be diverted towards Model School Crossing – Bengali Club – Goalghar- Secretariat Junction – Police Line and Nayagaon. No heavy vehicles including Private and STS buses will be allowed to proceed to Aberdeen Bazar from Gandhi Statue and Bengali Club Junction from 0700 hrs to 1200 hrs.
The vehicles intending to proceed to Aberdeen Bazar from South Point shall follow the route of South Point-Shadipur-Nayagaon Junction-Police Line-RBV-Secretariat Junction and Goalghar.
Heavy vehicles proceeding to long route shall be diverted to Goal Ghar and Junglighat from Bengali Club. All the vehicular traffic shall remain suspended in the stretches from Annapurna to Clock Tower, Clock Tower to Dharamshala, Dharamshala to R.K. Mission and Raj Niwas to National Memorial via Netaji Stadium from 0830 hrs.
No vehicles shall be allowed to proceed towards the place of function from any side after 0830 hrs. No vehicle shall be allowed to proceed to Aberdeen Bazar after the function from any direction till the crowd gets dispersed.
The vehicles carrying parade contingents after dropping the contingents in front of Netaji Stadium shall proceed to Water Sports Complex towards Aberdeen Jetty and will remain stationed there. After culmination of parade they will come to Netaji Stadium via Y- Narayan Junction and proceed to their respective units with their parade contingents.
Further vehicles intending to proceed to GB Pant Hospital shall follow the route of Gandhi Statue- Marine Gate – Sisty Nagar – Dignabad – Sea Shore Road – Khan Jn. - Cellular Jail towards GB Pant Hospital. Private tourist boats carrying tourists from Aberdeen Jetty to Ross Island, North Bay etc. should be shifted to Junglighat jetty on 13/08/2017 and 15/08/2017.