Utkal Samaj to celebrate Odisha Day

Port Blair
31 Mar 2017

Odisha Day, also Odisha Dibas and Utkal Dibas is celebrated on 1 April in Odisha in the memory of the memory of the formation of the state as a separate province on 1 April 1936. After losing its complete political identity in 1568 following the defeat and demise of the of the last Hindu King Mukunda Dev, efforts resulted in the formation of a politically separate state under British rule on linguistic basis on 1 April 1936. The main revolution for this separate state was continued for three decades from the very day of formation of Utkal Sammilani that lead the foundation of a separate Odisha  Province. The movement was more intense with the leadership of Utkal Gouraba Madhusudan Das, Utkala main Gopabandhu Das, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati, Pandita Nilakantha Das, Fakir Mohan Senapati, Gangadhar Meher, Basudeba Sudhaladedba, Radhanath Ray, Bhubanananda Das, A.P.Patro and many others with the support of the public. The newly formed Odisha consisted of six disteicts namely Cuttack, Puri, Baleswar, Sambalpur, Koraput and Ganjam having its capital at Cuttack.Now it has 30 districts within it with capital at Bhubaneswar.
Utkal Utsav is celebrated every year on 1 April all over Odisha and also all over in India. The celebration is also observed in Andaman & Nicobar Islands in the Utkal Samaj premises. Programmes such as: Odisi dance, Bhajans, other traditional songs etc will be conducted on the occasion. Judicial Member of CAT, Calcutta  Bench, Mr A K Patnaik will be the chief guest while Smt  Shashmita Patnaik will grace the occasion as the guest of honor. The Samaj will felicitate Mr and Mrs Patnaik on the occasion.