Workshop on good construction practices held

Port Blair
24 Feb 2017

As per the directions of the Prime Minister of India, the Municipal Council here in association with Building Materials & Technology Promotion Council, Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation, Govt. of India, New Delhi conducted a one day workshop on “Good Construction Practices including Emerging Technology under PMAY” on Thursday.
The Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation, Government of India has issued directions to Building Materials & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC), New Delhi to specially conduct training programmes/ handholding of Engineers & other related professionals on the disaster resistant requirements of hilly and other disaster prone states/ UTs along with appropriate materials & system targeting the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (HFA).
The workshop was inaugurated by Mr Mathura Prasad, Chief Engineer, APWD, who emphasized on the role of Engineers in building the nation including these Islands. He also emphasized on conducting these type of workshop on regular basis.  The workshop was attended by around 120 engineers from various organizations like  Port Blair Municipal Council, APWD, ALHW, Zilla Parishad, South Andaman and Zilla Parishad, North & Middle Andaman.
The workshop was graced by the following speakers Dr. Shailesh Kr Agarwal, Executive Director, BMPTC, Dr. Radhakrishna Pillai, IIT, Chennai, Mr Atul Patel, Waffle Crete Technology, Mr. Rajib Ghosh, Hydrebad Industries Ltd., Mr. Jignesh Patel, Coffer Technologies, Mr Dandhapani, Beardsell Technologies, Mr. C.N. Jha, Deputy Chief, BMPTC and Mr Armugam Kalimuthu, WASH. The speakers elaborately explained about the various emerging technologies like aerocon panel, light weight concrete based technology, monolithic concrete technology, precast concrete construction, expanded polystyrene sheet core based technology and toilet technology.
Earlier, Mr Yashpal Garg, Secretary, Port Blair Municipal Council requested the participants to take maximum benefit from the workshop.  Mr Jai Kumar, Architect, Port Blair Municipal Council, proposed the vote of thanks.