MP poll scenario gets complex

L S Herdenia

As the Assembly poll dates are coming nearer, the electoral scenario has become more complicated. One month ago it was thought that the poll battle will be fought between BJP and the alliance of Congress, BSP and SP. The hopes of such a united front were dashed with BSP leader Mayawati’s decision to join hands with Ajit Jogi, former Congress chief minister of Chhattisgarh who has floated a new party after severing ties with Congress. Since Jogi has floated an anti-Congress front, chances of BSP joining hands with Congress in Madhya Pradesh have disappeared. Moreover, Mayawati has also released a list of 22 BSP candidates who will fight the Vidhan Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh. Mayawati has also announced that her party proposes to contest from all the 230 Vidhan Sabha seats and BSP will not have any alliance with congress in Madhya Pradesh in coming assembly elections.
In between, three political outfits have been formed in the state. The first is by the upper caste people, second by tribal leaders and the third by several small parties. Former Union minister and JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav is the most important figure of this front. At this stage it is difficult to forecast whose prospects – Congress or BJP – will be damaged by the three groups.
So far the Samanya Pichhra Alpsankyak Kalyan Samiti (SAPAKS) has been protesting against reservation and the SC-ST Prevention of Atrocities Act. It organised several rallies in the state to voice their opposition against the Act. But SAPAKS has now decided to convert itself into a political party. The organisation mostly consists of ex-bureaucrats and professionals. The new political party will be known as SAPAKS Samaj Party and has chosen Hiralal Trivedi, a former IAS man, as its president and another retired woman IAS officer Veena Ghanekar as vice-president.
Trivedi, after accepting presidentship of the new party, announced the party’s plan to contest all the 230 seats. Encouraged by the huge turnout in the rallies in protest against reservation and amendment to SC-ST Atrocities Act, SAPAKS would raise its political wing to challenge the two major players in the state – BJP and Congress. Announcing the office bearers at a press conference and releasing the party flag at its office, Trivedi said “All the members of the SAPAKS Samaj may become party workers provided they fulfill the criteria of no criminal record”.
Dr, KL Sahu, retired health director, Veena Ghaneksr, retired IAS officer, Vijay Vate, retired IPS officer and Rajeev Khanedlwal, a businessman from Betul, were named as vice-presidents. Suresh Tiwari, retired director of public relations, was named as the general secretary (organisation). Hariom Gupta is the general secretary. Srikant Ghanekar, a retired banker was named treasurer. Sounding the poll bugle, Trivedi said his party would get a majority. When asked on what basis he is making such a tall claim about an outfit which was just born, he said “society wants a change we have felt the pulse of the people while travelling across the state. Look at the AAP. It was a new party before they took over Delhi government.”
Another challenge both to BJP and Congress has come from an organisation formed by representatives of the tribals. This organisation is known as Jay Yuva Adivasi Sangthan. The organisation held a conference at Kukshhi. Surprisingly well known actor Govinda participated in the conference and asked Adivasis to realise their strength. The conference was attended by young tribal leaders from Dhar, Ratlam, Jhabua, Aliragpur, Badwani, Khargone, Khandwa, Burhanpur, Harda, Betul and Dewas. Delegates also came from Gujarat and Maharashtra. Most participants were tribal youths. Dr. Hiralal, president of the organisation, announced that they would set up candidates in 80 tribal dominated seats. Our slogan is “tribal should be the next chief minister”. He said “no political party has cared for the welfare of the tribals so the time has come when we should our self take care of our interests. That will be possible when we have power”.
Another joint outfit has been announced by Sharad Yadav. These parties include Loktantrik Janta Dal, SP, CPI, CPM, Bahjun Sangharsh Dal, Gondwana Gartantra Party, Rashtriya Samta Dal and Prajatantrik Samadhan Party. (IPA)

Monday, 15 October, 2018